- Faith and Fear in Flushing - http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com -

Dressed to the 9′s

Posted By Greg Prince On December 28, 2010 @ 9:00 pm In 1 | Comments Disabled

In 2009, Flashback Friday commemorated the milestone anniversaries of previous Mets seasons ending in 9: 1969, 1979, 1989 and 1999 with a series subtitled I Saw The Decade End [1]. Here, for handy reference (a year after the fact, because I sort of forgot to give it its “Best of FAFIF [2]” cataloguing treatment last December), is a guide to the epic Mets days of ’69 and ’99…as well as the lesser Mets days of ’79 and ’89. Remember: you don’t need to make the playoffs to generate a good story. Click on any for whichever trip back in time might intrigue you.

1999

Our Days Got Numbered [3]: Cosmetic changes are all around
Team Building Exercise ’99 [4]: The unlikeliest Met, from the vantage point of 1988
Wallworthy [5]: Why some things are bigger than titles
Never Gonna Win Another Game [6]: An eight-game losing streak that feels much longer
Don’t Stop ’Til You Get Enough [7]: The Mets who stayed crunchy, even in milk
The Fab Four [8]: The Best Infield Ever coalesces
Freaks and Geeks [9]: Setting September’s stage
Baseball’s Most Magical Date [10]: October 3 comes to its logical conclusion
Prelude, Playoffs & Postscript [11]: Whacking the Diamondbacks
A Beautiful Ride [12]: Coming up short against the Braves
The Days After [13]: Picking up the pieces
Amazin’ Medley [14]: A musical homage

1989

Showing Some Fight [15]: Darryl takes on Keith, while I take on beverages
Last Summer in Long Beach [16]: Getting around to coming of age
Dykstra & McDowell for Samuel [17]: Potentially advantageous trade goes horribly awry
Intermittently Sweet Music [18]: Frank Viola, not quite the answer
As Mookies Go & Eras End [19]: Exiting the Eighties

1979

When Shea Would Go ‘Boom!’ [20]: Fireworks Night explodes in Flushing
Generation Pre-K [21]: Going cheap, going young
The Willie Mays Bridge [22]: Spanning New York’s National League generations
Livin’ It Up (Friday Night) [23]: When Mets vs. Yankees was as much conjecture as rock vs. disco
Dock Ellis to Doc Gooden [24]: Counting our lucky All-Stars
Dave Kingman Appreciation Day [25]: Surrendering three homers, gaining one win
¿’79 or ’93: Cuál es Mas Mal? [26]: Which wretched season is more bad?

1969

Before & After [27]: If it occurred before I met the Mets, it hardly counts
Living in the Moments [28]: How does a miracle lose its currency?
Donn of a New Era [29]: Clendenon makes an impact
Duffy Deserves His Ring [30]: The ultimate backup catcher
Born Again [31]: Before there was Jimmy Qualls, there was Don Young
It’s A Family Affair [32]: Uniquely Met immortals
Rites of Passage [33]: Bar Mitzvah in the morning, Old Timers at night
You Never Forget Your First [34]: Why 1969 still resonates

Across The Decades

Don’t Pitch to Kevin Young [35]: A fan born in 1969 revels in 1999
Rickey and Jesse Would Always Know How to Survive [36]: A Met rookie from 1979 crosses paths with a Met star from 1999
Euphoria and the Infinite Sadness [37]: The long and winding road from 1969 to 1979


Article printed from Faith and Fear in Flushing: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com

URL to article: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2010/12/28/dressed-to-the-9s/

URLs in this post:

[1] I Saw The Decade End: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/02/06/right-there-right-then/

[2] Best of FAFIF: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/tag/best-of-fafif/

[3] Our Days Got Numbered: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/03/06/our-days-got-numbered/

[4] Team Building Exercise ’99: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/03/13/team-building-exercise-99/

[5] Wallworthy: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/04/24/wallworthy/

[6] Never Gonna Win Another Game: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/06/05/never-gonna-win-another-game/

[7] Don’t Stop ’Til You Get Enough: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/06/26/dont-stop-til-you-get-enough/

[8] The Fab Four: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/09/04/the-fab-four/

[9] Freaks and Geeks: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/09/11/freaks-and-geeks/

[10] Baseball’s Most Magical Date: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/09/22/baseballs-most-magical-date/

[11] Prelude, Playoffs & Postscript: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/10/09/prelude-playoffs-postscript/

[12] A Beautiful Ride: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/10/28/a-beautiful-ride/

[13] The Days After: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/11/10/the-days-after/

[14] Amazin’ Medley: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/11/20/amazin-medley/

[15] Showing Some Fight: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/02/27/showing-some-fight/

[16] Last Summer in Long Beach: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/05/29/last-summer-in-long-beach/

[17] Dykstra & McDowell for Samuel: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/07/03/dykstra-mcdowell-for-samuel/

[18] Intermittently Sweet Music: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/08/07/intermittently-sweet-music/

[19] As Mookies Go & Eras End: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/10/21/as-mookies-go-eras-end/

[20] When Shea Would Go ‘Boom!’: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/02/20/when-shea-would-go-boom/

[21] Generation Pre-K: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/03/20/generation-pre-k/

[22] The Willie Mays Bridge: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/05/22/the-willie-mays-bridge/

[23] Livin’ It Up (Friday Night): http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/06/12/livin-it-up-friday-night/

[24] Dock Ellis to Doc Gooden: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/07/17/dock-ellis-to-doc-gooden/

[25] Dave Kingman Appreciation Day: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/07/31/dave-kingman-appreciation-day/

[26] ¿’79 or ’93: Cuál es Mas Mal?: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/10/23/79-or-93-i¿cual-es-mas-mali/

[27] Before & After: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/02/13/before-after/

[28] Living in the Moments: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/04/10/living-in-the-moments/

[29] Donn of a New Era: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/05/01/donn-of-a-new-era/

[30] Duffy Deserves His Ring: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/06/19/duffy-deserves-his-ring/

[31] Born Again: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/07/10/born-again/

[32] It’s A Family Affair: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/08/21/its-a-family-affair/

[33] Rites of Passage: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/08/28/rites-of-passage/

[34] You Never Forget Your First: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/10/16/you-never-forget-your-first/

[35] Don’t Pitch to Kevin Young: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/05/08/dont-pitch-to-kevin-young/

[36] Rickey and Jesse Would Always Know How to Survive: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/07/24/rickey-and-jesse-would-always-know-how-to-survive/

[37] Euphoria and the Infinite Sadness: http://www.faithandfearinflushing.com/2009/08/14/euphoria-and-the-infinite-sadness/

Copyright © 2010 Faith and Fear in Flushing. All rights reserved.